Central Florida Arrested for Drunk Driving: Fines and Other Costs

In Central Florida, arrested for drunk driving can equal nearly $10,000 for a first time offender, and much more for those who are convicted of subsequent charges. That rough estimate of $10,000 can climb though if your car was impounded, there was an accident involved and if the accident involved bodily injury to a person. Even for a first time offender, causing personal injury may make the estimate of fines and other costs double. There are more expenses than many people can think of off the top of their head starting with the day of the arrest and on for a year to many years, depending on the exact case.

In Central Florida, arrested for drunk driving will cost you a fine imposed on you by the court. There are mandates that give minimum and maximum amounts of these fines at every level and the judge can impose whatever he or she deems fit. There are some judges who will always use the low end of the fines allowable and some who always go high. Fine amount may also be handled between the attorneys during the plea agreement. In addition to fines imposed by the court, you will have to pay court costs as well.

In Central Florida, arrested for drunk driving may cost you fees to reinstate your license, which you may lose for a set amount of time. This loss may be mandatory and it may not be possible to get it reduced. In that case, not only will you have to pay for the reinstatement fee, you will have to pay for DUI school in many cases, as well as pay for special insurance which is at a far higher premium than other, typical insurance costs would be.

Also, in Central Florida, arrested for drunk driving will cost you an attorney’s fee because without one, you could face even stiffer penalties. The fee that you pay will depend on the attorney, the difficulty of your case and other factors. It would have been cheaper to take a cab.