Florida Third Time DUI Offender

In almost every instance of DUI arrest in Okaloosa County, Florida, it is a serious mistake to not hire an experienced Okaloosa County, Florida DUI Defense Attorney.

When you get arrested for DUI, there are both administrative and criminal consequences that you must handle.

Administrative Consequences

When you get arrested for a DUI in the state of Florida, driver’s license suspension happens immediately upon arrest. The arresting officer will issue you a temporary permit that is only valid for 10 days from the date of arrest. You must act quickly to request an administrative review of your suspension or your driver’s license will be administratively suspended for 1 year. Okaloosa County Attorney Stephen G. Cobb has handled many administrative suspension hearings and can help you try to avoid administrative suspension of your driver’s license. Even if an administrative suspension cannot be avoided, Attorney Stephen G. Cobb can assist you in obtaining a hardship license if you are otherwise eligible to receive one.

Criminal Consequences

In the state of Florida, DUI can be proven in two ways: impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. Regardless of how the charge is proven, the consequences are the same.

Incarceration: For a third DUI conviction within 10 years, there is a mandatory 30 day imprisonment. If this is your third conviction in more than 10 years the court has the discretion to imprison you for up to 12 months.

License Suspension: For a third DUI conviction within 10 years of the second conviction, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 10 years, effective on the conviction date. You may be eligible for a hardship license after 2 years of license revocation.

Vehicle Impound: For a third DUI conviction within 10 years, your vehicle will be impounded for 90 days unless your family has no other mode of transportation.

Fine: For a third conviction that is more than 10 years from the second conviction there will be a fine of not less than $2000 but not more than $5000. However, if your Blood/Breath Alcohol measures at .15 or higher or there was a minor in the car, the fine will be not less than $4000.